21 teams fight for a Club World Championship ticket

19 March 2014

2014 Men's African Club championship- Drawing of lots

 Sousse, Tunisia, March 19, 2014- The drawing of lots for the 2014 Men's African Club Championship was held in Sousse, Tunisia on Wednesday where the 21 participating teams were divided into 4 preliminary pools with Pool A, B and D having 5 teams and Pool C with 6 teams.


 Organizers and 2 time champions, Etoile du Sahel of Tunisia were drawn in Pool A along with Nahda (Sudan), Ittihad Taangier (Morocco), Borj Bou Arririj (Algeria), Bafia (Cameroon).


 Defending champions Sfax of Tunisia who have 6 titles under their name will battle it out with Autoridade (Mozambique), Stif (Algeria), Ettihad Misurata (Libya), Espoir (Congo RD).


 Pool C includes 2013 vice champions Esperance of Tunisia who won the title 3 times beside GSU (Kenya), Nemo Stars (Uganda), Mughrer Cement (Ethiopia), Port (Cameroon), and Ahly Beni Ghazi (Libya).


 Ahly Tripoli (Libya) who finished third in 2013 will line up against the record holders Ahly of Egypt (6 titles), FAP (Cameroon), Prisons (Kenya) and Beau Vallon (Seychelles) in Pool D.


 Teams of each pool will play in a round robin fromat where the top 2 teams in each quaify for the quarterfinals to play in a knock out format to determine the qualifiers till the final.


 Teams ranked third and fourth in each pool will paly for the 9 to 16 brackets in the same knockout system.  


 The teams ranked 5th in each preliminary pool will fight for the 17 to 20 brackets, while the team ranked 6th in pool C will automatically finish as 21st position.


 The annual CAVB competition acts as a qualifier for the FIVB Club World Championship to be held in Brazil May 6 to 11, 2014.  


Day 1 Programme

Pool A

Etoile du Sahel (TUN) v Bafia (CMR)

Ittihad Tangier (MAR) v Borj Bouarirj (ALG)


Pool B

Autoridade (MOZ) v Espoir (COD)

Stif (ALG) v Sfax (TUN)


Pool C

Mugher Cement (ETH) v Port (CMR)

Nemo stars (UGA) Esperance (TUN)

GSU (KEN) v AHLY Benighazi (LIB)


Pool D

Prisons (KEN) v Beau Vallon (SEY)

Ahly Tripoli (LIB) v Ahly (EGY)


History of Men’s African Clubs Champions Championship

Year  Champion

1982 Ahly (Egypt)

1983 Ahly (Egypt)

1984 Zamalek (Egypt)

1985 CS Sfax (Tunisia)

1986 CS Sfax (Tunisia)

1987 Zamalek (Egypt)

1988 Mouloudia (Algeria)

1989 CS Sfax (Tunisia)

1990 Club Africain (Tunisia)

1991 Club Africain (Tunisia)

1992 Club Africain (Tunisia)

1993 Club Africain (Tunisia)

1994 Espérance - Taragy (Tunisia)

1995 Ahly (Egypt)

1996 Ahly (Egypt)

1997 Ahly (Egypt)

1998 Espérance - Taragy (Tunisia)

1999 CS Sfax (Tunisia)

2000 Espérance - Taragy (Tunisia)

2001 Etoile du Sahel - AlNajm AlSahily (Tunisia)

2002 Etoile du Sahel - AlNajm AlSahily (Tunisia)

2003 Ahly (Egypt)

2004 Ahly (Egypt)

2005 Sfax  (Tunisia)

2006 Ahly  (Egypt)

2007 Mouloudia (Algeria)

2008 Zamalek (Egypt)

2009 Zamalek (Egypt)

2010 Ahly (Egypt)

2011 Ahly (Egypt)

2012 Zamalek (Egypt)

2013 Sfax (Tunisia )



Ahly (Egypt) 10

CS Sfax (Tunisia) 6

Zamalek (Egypt) 5

Club Africain (Tunisia) 4

Espérance - Taragy (Tunisia) 3

Etoile du Sahel -Al Najm AlSahily-  (Tunisia) 2

Mouloudia (Algeria) 2


CAVB web site: www.cavb.org 

Twitter:  CAVB Tweets

Facebook:    https://www.facebook.com/CAVBVolleyball

YouTube:    CAVB Video

2014 Men's African Club Championship page 



Africa Union Sport Council Region 5 Volleyball Competition starts

   Gaborone, Botswana, December 11, 2018- Africa Union Sport Council "AUSC Region 5 Volleyba

Botswana's Police 6 and eSwatini's Correctional crowned Zone 6 Club Champions

   Durban, South Africa, December 7, 2018- Police 6 of Botswana claimed Zone 6 Club Championship following th

Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja