FIVB Volleyball Women's World Championships Italy 2014 Drawing of Lots complete

11 March 2014

Parma, Italy, March 10, 2014 - Two time defending champions Russia, ranked 6th in the world, face a fascinating first round of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 having been drawn in Pool C to be played in Verona with Thailand (WR12), the Netherlands (WR18), Kazakhstan (WR23) and two NORCECA representatives following the completion of the Drawing of Lots at the Farnese Theatre in Parma on Monday.


A total of 24 countries were drawn across four pools for the first round of the 17th edition of the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship, which will be held across six different cities (Trieste, Milan, Modena, Verona, Rome, Bari) in Italy from September 23 to October 12.


The top 12 teams in the world ranking as of January 2014, were placed across the four pools in accordance with the serpentine system. Hosts Italy (world ranking 4) were placed in position 1 before the remaining 11 teams followed.


The remaining 12 teams were drawn across the bottom three positions of each of the four first round pools thanks to the help of Italian volleyball legend Maurizia Cacciatori in front of FIVB President Dr. Ary S. Graça F°, Italy Volleyball Federation President Carlo Magri and FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014 Organising Committee President Carlos Salvatori amongst other dignitaries.


In arguably the toughest group, Pool B in Trieste features Olympic champions Brazil (WR1), Serbia (WR7), Turkey (WR11), Cameroon (WR26), Bulgaria (WR35) and one team from NORCECA still to be determined.


Hosts and 2002 champions Italy, ranked 4th in the world, will play Germany (WR9), Argentina (WR18), Croatia (WR24), Tunisia (WR27) and one more team from NORCECA still to be defined in Pool A in Rome.


The fourth and final first-round pool sees the 2010 World Championship bronze medallists Japan (WR3), grouped with China (WR5), Belgium (WR22), Azerbaijan (WR37) and two NORCECA teams to be played in Bari.


Pools for the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014

Pool A in Rome - Italy, NORCECA 2, Germany, Argentina, Croatia, Tunisia

Pool B in Trieste - Brazil, Serbia, Turkey, NORCECA 4, Cameroon, Bulgaria

Pool C in Verona - NORCECA 1, Russia, Thailand, the Netherlands, Kazakhstan, NORCECA 6

Pool D in Bari – Japan, China, NORCECA 3, NORCECA 5, Belgium, Azerbaijan


The last remaining qualifiers in the NORCECA Confederation will take place from May 12 to June 9. For more info click here.


A record number of 279 teams participated in the qualification process for the 2014 FIVB Volleyball World Championships. This total, coming from 166 national federations across the five FIVB confederations, represents an increase of 65 teams from the previous best of 214 teams from 119 federations for the 2010 World Championships (compared with 102 in 2006, 72 in 2002 and 63 in 1998).


There were 127 teams that have played in the qualification process for the Women’s World Championship.


Russia won their second straight FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship title in Japan in 2010 after beating Brazil in the final. Japan completed the podium after beating USA in the bronze medal match.




Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja

CAVB President Dr Elwani Honoured by Tunisian Minister of Sport

Sousse, Tunisia, Match 19, 2015- FIVB Executive Vice President and CAV

Gambia write history, Senegal make it through at CAVB Continental Cup Zone 2

Dakar, Senegal, January 27, 2015- Hosts Senegal and emerging Gambia men and women teams proceeded to