3 teams represent Africa

9 October 2011

Algeria book a ticket for the 2011 Women’s World Cup Along with Kenya women and Egypt men
 Cairo, Egypt, October 3, 2011- Algeria women’s Volleyball team booked a ticket for the 2011 FIVB World cup as one of the best 4 runners up from the Continental championships. Early last August Kenya booked another World Cup slot as African Champions.
 In the FIVB Men’s World Cup only Egypt as African champions will represent the continent as the runner up Cameroon missed out the competition being ranked 6 positions behind the Asian runner up China. 
 The line-up for the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Cup 2011 is complete with the five continental champions and four best runners-up set to join Japan at the quadrennial tournament along with the 2 wild cards for Italy and Argentina. 
 The World Cup – the first volleyball qualifying event for the 2012 Olympic Games - is due to take place in Japan from November 4 to 18 for the women’s category and November 20 to December 4 for the men’s. 
The qualifying process for the World Cup consists of the hosts being joined by the five continental championship winners, the best four out of the five runners up and two wildcards. Brazil’s victory meant that Argentina were denied a place since their world ranking of 25 (as of January 15) was the worst of the five runners up, seven places behind Asian Championship bronze medallists Korea in 18th. Korea qualify as Japan, already guaranteed a berth as hosts, won the silver medal. Joining them are Asia champions China, African champions Kenya and runners up Algeria, European champions Serbia and runners up Germany and NORCECA winners USA and second-placed Dominican Republic.
 The ten teams for the men’s tournament were decided following the conclusion of the African Championship. Two wildcard teams, Poland and Russia will join defending champions Brazil as well as hosts Japan, Argentina, Serbia, Cuba, USA, Italy, China, Egypt and Iran.
The Drawing of Lots for the men’s and women’s World Cup, where the medalists will earn a coveted berth at the London 2012 Olympic Games, took place in Tokyo, Japan on Wednesday. The 12 teams were split into two pools of six, with each competing against each other in the first and second rounds before facing off against teams in the opposite group in the third and fourth rounds.
The FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Cup 2011 will be its 11th edition having been established in 1965. It became a qualifying event for the Olympic Games in 1991 ahead of the Barcelona Games and since then has been traditionally the first Olympic Games qualifying event for volleyball. Since 1977 Japan has proudly hosted the competition with both them and Korea having competed at every tournament since it began in 1973.



Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja

CAVB President Dr Elwani Honoured by Tunisian Minister of Sport

Sousse, Tunisia, Match 19, 2015- FIVB Executive Vice President and CAV

Gambia write history, Senegal make it through at CAVB Continental Cup Zone 2

Dakar, Senegal, January 27, 2015- Hosts Senegal and emerging Gambia men and women teams proceeded to