Thailand welcome FIVB Girls' U18 World Championship

26 July 2013

Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand, July 23, 2013- FIVB Girls U18 World Championship will get underway on Friday with 8 matches taking place on Friday at both competition halls in Nakhon Ratchasima as hosts clash against African Champions Egypt 1500 local time at Chartchai Gym.


 The competition is the first in history to be held with 20 teams like the entire age category World Championship and will take place in two neighbouring halls; Chartchai Hall with the capacity of 5000 spectators hosting pool A and C and Lipatapanlop Hall (2000) for Pool B and C.


 Beside the Thailand- Egypt clash which follows the official opening ceremony, Chartchai Hall features Slovenia v Algeria, Brazil v Dominican Republic and Tunisia v Serbia.  


 The second Lipatapanlop Hall will see Peru meet Mexico, Defending champions Turkey taking on Italy, Poland meeting Greece and Japan facing China.


 Four out of the six previous winning countries are available here in Nakhon Ratchasima led by the record holders Brazil and China (3 crowns each), Japan (two titles) and Turkey (1), while the only absentees from the winners are Russia and Korea.


The opening ceremony will be attended by a number of guests of honour led by Former Dept. Prime Minister Mr Suwat Lipatapallop, Governor of Nakhon Ratchasima province Mr Winai Buapradit and President of Nakhon Ratchasima Adminsrtrative Organisation Mr Sub Lt Ranongruk. 


 The 20 participating teams are divided into four preliminary pools playing a round robin tournament, where the top four qualify for the round of 16 and the teams ranked fifth in their corresponding pool play for the 17 to 20 positions.


The top four teams of their pools play there after in a Knock out system where the winners play for the top eight and losers for 9 to 16 positions. Again winners play in the quarterfinal to qualify to the semifinal etc till the final.


Group Composition


• Group A: Thailand, Serbia, Egypt, Tunisia, Puerto Rico

• Group B: China, Poland, Japan, Argentina, Greece

• Group C: Brazil, United States, Dominican Republic, Algeria, Slovenia

• Group D: Italy, Turkey, Peru, Mexico, Chinese Taipei.


Previous champions


Year/ Location/ Champions      

2011 Turkey  Turkey 

2009 Thailand  Brazil 

2007 Mexico  China 

2005 China  Brazil 

2003 Poland  China 

2001 Croatia  China 

1999 Portugal   Japan 

1997 Thailand  Brazil 

1995 France   Japan 

1993 Slovakia  Russia 

1991 Portugal  Korea 

1989 Brazil  USSR 




Africa Union Sport Council Region 5 Volleyball Competition starts

   Gaborone, Botswana, December 11, 2018- Africa Union Sport Council "AUSC Region 5 Volleyba

Botswana's Police 6 and eSwatini's Correctional crowned Zone 6 Club Champions

   Durban, South Africa, December 7, 2018- Police 6 of Botswana claimed Zone 6 Club Championship following th

Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja