Namibia begins Youth and Junior Beach volleyball African Qualifications

4 April 2012

Windhoek, Namibia, March 30, 2012 – South Africa came out on top in all but one category at the first Bank Windhoek Namibian Open Beach Volleyball Competition and CAVB Zone VI Youth Qualification tournaments in Namibia on Saturday.
The weekend was split into the two tournaments, with the youth event acting as qualification for the African Championships, with the winners and runners-up moving on.
South Africa’s Dean and Carlo held off home pair Bernard Schurz and Gero Talkenberg in the Men’s Junior final while Prudence and Bejanke matched the achievements of their male counterparts by holding off Zimbabwe’s Clarice and Christain.
Tin Hulpic and Gerard Fischer gave the home fans something to cheer about after they beat South Africa’s Taswell and Lazuko in the Boys’ Youth final but Christen and Kayla helped South Africa bounce back with a win over Lee Lientjie and Maike of Namibia to take top prize in the girls’ contest.
It was a double gold medal in the senior events, with Palesa Sekhonyana and Randy Williams beating Nambia’s Lizette Röttcher and South Africa’s Kirsten Pocock in the women’s event and Grant Gold-Schmitd and Freedom Chiya holding of compatriots Jerome Fredericks and Leo Williams in the men’s.
It was the second year the Namibia Volleyball Federation hosted an international beach volleyball tournament over the Independence weekend.
“We initiated this competition due to the popular request of locals, as well as international participants,” NVF president Heiko Diehl said. “It is our strategy to grow this event into an FIVB Satellite Event.”
1. Palesa Sekhonyana / Randy Williams (RSA).
2. Lizette Röttcher (NAM) / Kirsten Pocock (RSA)
3. Wiebke Hoerit-Zhauer (GER) / Brigitte Looser (SWI).
1. Grant Gold-Schmitd / Freedom Chiya (RSA).
2. Jerome Fredericks / Leo Williams (RSA).
3. Dean / Carlo (RSA)
Junior Boys:
1. Dean / Carlo (RSA)
2. Ber-nard Schurz / Gero Talkenberg (NAM)
Junior Girls:
1. Pru-dence / Bejanke (RSA)
2. Clarice / Christain (ZIM).
Youth Boys:
1. Tin Hulpic / Gerard Fischer (NAM).
2. Taswell / Lazuko (RSA).
Youth Girls:
1. Christen / Kayla Lee (RSA).
2. Lientjie / Maike (NAM)
By Jane Bockmühl, Namibia Volleyball Fed press office



Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja

CAVB President Dr Elwani Honoured by Tunisian Minister of Sport

Sousse, Tunisia, Match 19, 2015- FIVB Executive Vice President and CAV

Gambia write history, Senegal make it through at CAVB Continental Cup Zone 2

Dakar, Senegal, January 27, 2015- Hosts Senegal and emerging Gambia men and women teams proceeded to