FIVB Presidential and Board minority gender candidates confirmed

20 March 2012

 Lausanne, Switzerland, March 19, 2012 – The candidates for the FIVB Presidential and FIVB Board of Administration minority gender election, which will take place at the FIVB Congress in September, were unanimously approved by the FIVB Board of Administration on the final day of its three-day meeting at the FIVB headquarters in Lausanne, Switzerland on Monday.
 And in order to guarantee fair and democratic elections the FIVB Board of Administration also approved the appointment of an Advisory Election Committee which will be chaired by the FIVB President Jizhong Wei and includes four of the five Continental Confederation Presidents plus FIVB Board member Dr. Rafael Lloreda Currea (COL) in place of CSV President Dr. Ary Graça, who is a presidential candidate. The Advisory Election Committee will appoint election scrutineers at the Congress.
“This will be the first democratic election in the history of the FIVB,” President Jizhong Wei said.
The candidates for the FIVB President election are the following:
Mr Doug Beal (USA). Mr Beal is an FIVB Board of Administration member and President of USA Volleyball.
Dr Ary Graça (Brazil). Dr Graça is an FIVB Executive Vice-President, President of the South America Volleyball Confederation and the President of the Brazil Volleyball Federation.
Mr Chris Schacht (Australia). Mr Schacht is the President of the Australia Volleyball Federation.
The candidates for the minority gender positions (two to be elected) on the FIVB Board of Administration are the following:
Mrs Rita Subowo (Indonesia). Mrs Subowo is an FIVB Executive Vice-President.
Mrs Marta Centeno O. De Sajche (Guatemala). Mrs Centeno O. De Sajche is an FIVB Executive Vice-President.
Mrs Vilja Savisaar-Toomast (Estonia). Mrs Savisaar-Toomast is the President of the Estonia Volleyball Federation.
The FIVB Congress -the 33rd since the first held in Paris, France in 1947 -will take place in Anaheim, USA from September 19-21.
Current FIVB President Wei declared he would not run for election when he was appointed by the FIVB Congress in 2008 as FIVB President.
FIVB President history:
Mr Paul Libaud (France) 1947-1984
Dr. Ruben Acosta (Mexico) 1984-2008
Mr Jizhong Wei (China) 2008¬



Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja

CAVB President Dr Elwani Honoured by Tunisian Minister of Sport

Sousse, Tunisia, Match 19, 2015- FIVB Executive Vice President and CAV

Gambia write history, Senegal make it through at CAVB Continental Cup Zone 2

Dakar, Senegal, January 27, 2015- Hosts Senegal and emerging Gambia men and women teams proceeded to