Election of the seven zonal presidents

18 December 2011

Khartoum, Sudan, December 9, 2011- The presidents of the seven African Zones were elected during the zonal meetings following the election of the CAVB Board members during the general assembly held at Corinthia Hotel in the Sudanese capital of Khartoum in presence of the FIVB President Jizhong Wei.

In zone I Moustafa Lamouchi from Algeria was elected president of the zone, while Mamadou Ndoye from Senegal became the president of zone II. David Kabre from Burkina Faso was elected as zone III president, Frederic Ndounda from Gabon in zone IV, Mohamed Abdel Mageed from Sudan in zone V, William Nhlapo from Lesotho in zone VI and Kaysee Teeroovengadum in zone VII.

The zonal boards held side meetings after Dr Amr Elwani was re- elected President of the African Volleyball Confederation “CAVB” on Friday for another four- year term after receiving 41 votes out of total 48 attending National Federation that were in attendance at the CAVB general assembly

Elwani got 41 votes out of 47 and the other candidate for the presidency Tubby Reddy got 6 votes with one vote invalid.

The congress elected also 6 vice presidents who are Mory Keita (Guinea Conakry) who got 45 votes, Habu Gumel (Nigeria) 43 votes, Munir Ben Slimane (Tunisia) 43 votes, Idriss Dokony (Tchad) 42, Waithaka Kioni (Kenya) 42 and Camilo Antao (Mozambique) 39 votes.

For the gender Minority Touria Aarab (Morocco) got 43 votes and Aminata Fofana 40 to join the board.

The other CAVB representatives to the FIVB board were also elected as Habu Gumel (Nigeria) got 43 votes, Louis Timba (Cameroon) 44 and Issiaka Sawadougou (Burkina Faso) votes were honoured with these posts. Elwani will be also added to the FIVB board automatically as Executive Vice President being the confederation president according to the rules.

The congress was also attended FIVB 1st executive vice-president and NORCECA president Cristóbal Marte, FIVB executive vice-president and CEV president André Meyer and FIVB executive vice-president and CSV president Dr Ary Graca.



Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja

CAVB President Dr Elwani Honoured by Tunisian Minister of Sport

Sousse, Tunisia, Match 19, 2015- FIVB Executive Vice President and CAV

Gambia write history, Senegal make it through at CAVB Continental Cup Zone 2

Dakar, Senegal, January 27, 2015- Hosts Senegal and emerging Gambia men and women teams proceeded to